iwE5qJUcSIhvu1PMt-smehTga6sYkSaO5-4" />

Top seeds begin battle for podium finish at National T’Tennis Championships


The battle for podium finish among the top seeds will begin on Thursday, April 25, at the 4th Michael & Felicia Alabi Memorial National Table Tennis Championships taking place in Otan Ayegbaju in Osun State.

The annual tournament is organised by the Osun State Table Tennis Association (OSTTA) with support from the Michael and Felicia Alabi Memorial Foundation and Canada-based Jodal Health Care with over 28 states competing in 14 events. 

The tournament is a ranking event by the Nigeria Table Tennis Federation (NTTF) as the results will be used for national ranking for 2024.

Number one seeds in men and women singles – Akinwale Fagbamila of Ondo and  Bisola Asaju of Rivers will taste action while other top seeds will also be in action.

A determined Fagbamila has said that he is in Osun to take home the highest prize ahead of others. “There is no doubt that this tournament has continued to improve every year with new players coming on board. But nothing can stop me from clinching the gold medal for my state because I have trained well and I will put all my hardwork to action when the matches begin,” Akinwale said.

Commonwealth Games medalist Isau Ogunkunle who claimed the first gold medal for Ogun State at the tournament has hailed the sponsors for keeping faith with the staging of the tournament. “I must commend the sponsors for what he is doing because the hospitality coupled with the good organisation put in place at the venue has made the tournament more exciting for the players. We need such competitions all over the country and for me, this is another opportunity to show what I can do and I hope I can return next year to retain my title,” the Paris Paralympic Games-bound athlete said.

Already, winners have been decided in seven events with Lagos, Ogun and Kwara leading the medal table with two gold medals each. Ondo won one gold medal as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *