iwE5qJUcSIhvu1PMt-smehTga6sYkSaO5-4" />

Okpor, Godwin, Odumoso Win Sprint Titles On Day 4 Of MTN CHAMPS Asaba 


Akanimo Kufre 

Best Okpor a student of Government Model Secondary School in Asaba has been a standout performer at MTN CHAMPS Asaba. On Day 4 of the competition, the JS3 student surpassed his competitors to win the Boys’ 200m Cadet (U-14) title in 26.24s (-3.4). 

He was followed by teammate Adeniyi Owolabi, and Blossom Nwanbueze of Model Technical won bronze. 

The 200m GOLD is Okpor’s second medal of the event; he also took Silver in the Long Jump (5.09m), which was won by Vision High’s Chimobi Ezeanya with 5.15m, while David Ekunwe finished third. 

In the Junior (U-20) Boys’ 100m, Tejiri Godwin emerged as the champion, holding off Precious Aina to claim the win. Godwin got to the line in 11.04s (-2.2) ahead of Aina who settled for 2nd place in 11.09s, and Michael David finished in 3rd place with a time of 11.20s.

Kate Odumoso dominated the Junior Girls’ 100m with a time of 12.09s (-1.2). Odumoso was clear of Vivian Iyamu who finished 2nd in 12.27s, with Stella Oyebode coming in 3rd, crossing the line in 12.29s.  

Ejiro Peter of Osadenis Mixed School was the fastest Cadet girl with her time of 12.96s in the 100m, finishing ahead of Ella Udumubrai (13.15s) and Karo Onisuru (13.26s) of Delta Secondary.

Adeniyi Owolabi of Government Model, Jude Goodluck, and Akpati Chidi were the Top 3 finishers in the Boys’ race. 

Perezide Sigah emerged as the Youth (U-17) Girls’ 100m Champion in 12.51s and was followed by Chiamaka Lucy Nwankwo (12.66s) and Azeezat Muhammed-Raji of Olivet Baptist who returned a time of 12.72s.

Salvation Isonguyo won the Youth Boys 100m GOLD with 11.37s. Gowon Oghenerunor (11.37s) and Oyewale Oluwadarasimi (11.40s) settled for 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Muhammed-Raji would be aiming to win the Youth Girls’ 200m on the final day of competition as she tops the standings in the semis with her time of 25.68s. 

However, she would have to contend with Nwankwo who won Silver in the event at last year’s National Youth Games (NYG).

Nwankwo ran a new Personal Best (PB) of 25.94s (-1.2) to win her 200m semifinal heat. If she wins a medal in the 200m, it would be her third medal of the competition, having already taken Bronze in the Long Jump with 5.09m, behind Ajike Ikola Lawal of Zappa Basic (5.35m) and Oghenekero Onuseke of Delta Secondary 5.29m.  

Gift Bright of Osadenis Mixed Secondary School, Jacob Olumor, and Udonna Okwuosa top the standings of the Youth Boys 200m semis ahead of the final. 

After competing at the MTN CHAMPS/AFN National Trials for the African Games and making the final of the men’s 400m, Isaac Miracle Chukwuwike returned to compete in the Junior category at MTN CHAMPS. 

Chukwuwike was the fastest overall in all the 400m heats, winning Heat 4 in a time of 48.14s. He has a 400m PB of 47.66s.

Oche Sunday of Anglican High was the fastest overall in the Youth Boys’ 400m and is followed by Tosin Esan of Aisegba Community School, and Stephen Adetomiwa Adejumo of Olivet Baptist. 

Victory Agaya and Patience Joseph led the way in the Girls 400m Youth category, winning their respective heats with new PBs. Agaya was the fastest overall, winning Heat 3 with a new PB of 58.91s, while Joseph posted the second fastest time in the heats, winning Heat 1 with a new PB of 59.63s.

The Cadet Girls Long Jump was won by Ella Udumbrai of Delta Secondary with 4.73m, followed by Jennifer Odivwri (4.54m) and Chioma Ezeh (4.42m) of Inland Girls. 

Precious Ebitimi Opinion of Bayelsa State won GOLD in the Junior Boys’ Long Jump where he leaped 7.22m. Ibrahim Hamidu of Edo State (6.96m) and Jeffrey Onyia Miracle of Delta State claimed Silver and Bronze respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *